PRSSA National Conference: Where Your Phone Battery and Data Usage Go to Die

DSC_2834
The Temple Crew

Two weeks ago from today, I was getting ready to travel to Washington D.C. for PRSSA National Conference.  I was lucky enough to attend my 2nd National Conference this year with 10 fellow Temple PRSSA and PRowl members. It was surely a weekend to remember.

IMG_9917
Philadelphia Sunrise

It started when we left Temple University at 6:15am on Friday morning for our 7:15am Megabus from 30th Street Station. It was rough getting up that early after finishing my nails and packing just a few hours before {priorities}, but I knew conference would be well worth it {also we all missed Homecoming weekend at Temple—and a big football win in the rain}.

Suitcases All Packed

Suitcases All Packed

Magically, Megabus got us to Washington D.C. early {extremely unexpected}, and with Jordan as our guide to the city, we navigated the Metro to our hotel to unpack and relax before the conference officially kicked off. Day one was pretty relaxed. The sessions were all student run and offered great opportunities to learn from successful chapters around the country. I liked the session about event planning by The Richard Stockton College the most since I have not planned any events professionally in any jobs or internships. After a short day of sessions, it was time to eat!

Let me just say I ate so well last weekend that I honestly do not remember what I ate on which days… all the meals blended together. Overall I had Chinese, Chipolte, Pasta {twice}, and American cuisine of course. I joked with friends back at Temple saying I ate more in 5 days in D.C. than I have in 3 weeks on campus… sad but almost true. Get ready to drool over my food below.

IMG_0014 IMG_0023 IMG_0033 IMG_0034 IMG_9931 IMG_9935 IMG_9952 IMG_9983

The rest of the conference was fantastic as well. I got to learn about Media Relations from Jason Mollica, owner of JRM Comm. He talked about the importance of being transparent and keeping the trust of the media and public. It is always great to learn from Jason as he is also a Temple alum.

Jason Mollica
Jason Mollica

Some other sessions I attended were First Job Survival, Who’s Coming to Dinner: Restaurant PR, How Was Your Stay?: Hospitality and Tourism PR, Shop ‘Til You Drop: Retail PR just to name a few. The whole weekend was fantastic because we also attended some PRSA International Conference sessions.

Even though the weekend was packed with sessions and networking, we did have sometime to have fun! Two different nights, I ventured out to the monuments, which were absolutely beautiful at night.

DSC_2863 DSC_2871 DSC_2889 DSC_2911 DSC_2913 DSC_2922 DSC_2932 DSC_2936 DSC_2938 DSC_3020 DSC_3037

DSC_2978

DSC_2982

We also got to see Georgetown one night, and we passed Georgetown Cupcakes {aka the bakery featured on the TLC show DC Cupcakes}, but sadly they were closed. Instead we settled for Pinkberry for some frozen yogurt instead {like I said we ate A LOT}.

DSC_2989 IMG_9986

The last day in D.C was spent at the free zoo! I was so excited to go to the zoo since I haven’t been to any zoo in many, many years. Even though it was really rainy and we got drenched, it still was a lot of fun especially since I got to see a Giant Panda!

DSC_3043

DSC_3052

DSC_3049 DSC_3059 DSC_3063 DSC_3068 DSC_3073 DSC_3080 DSC_3090

After the zoo, it was time for the career fair and then the White House Corresponding Awards Ceremony and Dinner {aka awards and 5 star food}.

DSC_3097

Megan and I
Megan and I

Then we made our way back to Union Station to catch a Megabus home. While the bus ride was very unpleasant to say the least, we did make it back to Philly.

It was a great long weekend away from Temple and very learning filled. I cannot wait to stay connected with the fellow PRSSA students and PR professionals I met. Next year’s conference is being held in Atlanta, GA, so we will see if I venture down south for round 3.

If you want to read the live tweets about conference, check out my twitter @Sluberski94 or search #PRSSANC {we did trend on twitter a couple of times!}!

~Shaun

Leave a Reply

