Ed Sheeran Concert

DSCN2483Concert number two for the summer is in the books! I saw Ed Sheeran last night at The Mann Center in Fairmount Park. The drive getting there wasn’t easy thanks to an old and unreliable GPS, but Rebecca and I made it there a little before 3:30pm and were second in line. We had to sit in line for two and a half hours before doors opened, but the best part of getting to outside concerts early though is hearing the bands sound check. Ed sound checked “Bloodstream” while we were waiting. Once doors opened, we ran to the lawn and got great spots front and center. I typically do not buy lawn seats, but I’m not obsessed with Ed Sheeran and didn’t want to splurge for actual seats.

DSCN2434 (2)

 

Our View
Our View

Rebecca and I laid out our towels and relaxed. At exactly 7:30pm, the opener, Foy Vance, a singer-songwriter from Ireland, came out and began the night in front of a sold out crowd. His music was very calming and sounded great. Then around 8:30pm, Ed came out and everyone stood as he began his set with “I’m A Mess.” Throughout his set, he played all of his singles like “Thinking Out Loud,” “Sing,” “Lego House” and “The A Team” but also performed some of my favorites such as “Photograph,” “Drunk”  and “I See Fire.”

Foy Vance
Foy Vance

Ed’s pure talent shined as he stood on stage alone with his guitar, microphone and loop station. He sounded amazing live and incorporated several mash-ups into his set with covers of “Ain’t No Sunshine,” “Fancy,” “No Diggity” and others. The only songs I wish he sang were “Kiss Me” and “Wake Me Up.”

DSCN2449 DSCN2464 DSCN2470

It was a great summer night at The Mann. I’m so glad I got to see Ed live for the third time. Next summer concert with be Taylor Swift for the 1989 World Tour in Philly on June 12th and 13th. These will definitely be my favorite concerts of the summer– I can’t wait. Then will be Firefly Music Festival in the Woodlands, and I just got my wristband in the mail!

Are you going to or have you seen any great concerts this summer? Comment below with your concert stories!

~Shaun

Leave a Reply

