Dublin for a Day

DSCN3180Emily and I took a bus from Hyde Park to Luton airport and flew to Dublin in the wee hours of the morning. Then once we arrived in Ireland and passed through customs, we took another bus to venue and saw where Taylor would be playing later that night. Then she checked into her hostel, dropped her bags off, and we headed into the city to explore. We passed countless stores, pubs and bars all getting ready to open for the day. I was surprised to pass an Abercrombie and Fitch store that reeked of their well known perfume into the streets. We also walked by a super classy H&M that brought me back home to America again.

DSCN3204 DSCN3195 DSCN3210

The streets were quiet with a lot of people heading to work, but we walked through Trinity College and saw lines of people going in to see the Book of Kell and found ourselves eating at this little pub, O’Neills and being served by a cute waiter. I got scrambled eggs with cheese, tomatoes and herbs with a Dublin potato cake and a lot of bread and marmalade. We also sipped on tea, and I tried {and liked!} adding milk to my tea. After breakfast, we headed to 3 Arena and joined other general admission Swifties outside the gates 5 hours before doors opened.

DSCN3214 DSCN3215As we waited, Emily decided to get craft supplies to make signs. While she was gone, a girl came up and said she saw Vance Joy. I got so excited and ran across the street and caught up with him. I told him how much I loved his music and how I saw him in Philly a few times then London and again tonight in Dublin. He was flattered and thanked me for listening. He signed my ticket, told me he’d have another album later next year and posed for a picture before heading backstage. I was soo excited and at that point this trip to Dublin was worth it. Then while still waiting in line to get in, I also met one of Taylor’s dancers, Giuseppe Giofre, and got a picture rich him too.

DSCN3223
Vance Joy
DSCN3226
Giuseppe Giofrè

Once doors were opened, it was a running race to get as close to the stage as possible. Emily and I managed to get second row standing right by the beginning of Taylor’s catwalk. After more waiting, standing and lots of pushing, Vance Joy came out and sang his 7 song set and continued to thank the crowd for their support and Taylor for taking him on tour with her. After Vance left the stage, a woman wearing an all access pass asked to take a picture of me with my Vance Joy sing reading, “I will always love you from afar.”

Second Row with Emily
Second Row with Emily

DSCN3235 IMG_6501

A little before 9PM, Taylor came out and was a few feet from me. I have never been so close for an entire concert before. She once again was flawless and amazing. It was magical being so close to her, her dancers and band. I kept looking at Emily and smiling. We were both thrilled to have made it that close to the stage and suddenly all the waiting and frustration was worth it.

DSCN3247 DSCN3252 DSCN3282 DSCN3323 DSCN3372

After the show, Emily went back to her hostel for the night, and I spent the night in Dublin’s airport before flying back to London at 7am. It was an exhausting day but all the money, transportation and time was worth it to see Dublin and of course Taylor again.

~Shaun

Leave a Reply

