Paris For a Weekend

I spent a couple days in Paris, and it was incredible. Before coming to London, I knew I needed to visit Paris but didn’t have much planned. A bunch of the girls here also really wanted to go. So after getting some recommendations from friends {thanks Brianna & Nicole!!}, seven Temple girls booked their bus to Paris, France.

Pre-departure
Pre-departure

The bus ride there wasn’t too bad. We left at 10:30PM and got situated in the back of the coach bus. The craziest part was when the bus drove into a train to go under the channel, but I slept most of the way and woke up in France. After hailing cabs to our hostel, we locked up our bags and purchased two day tickets for a hop on and hop off bus tour throughout the city and was one of the best things to see a lot of the city in two days.

DSC_6891 DSC_6916 DSC_6933 DSC_6935

On the tour, we got to see The Louvre, Notre Dame, the Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe, Galeries Lafayette, and other famous places. Thanks to the beautiful weather, it was perfect to sit on the top level of the bus and see everything.

On the Bus
On the Bus

????????????????????????????????????

 

????????????????????????????????????

IMG_6822

 

After a quick nap in the hostel, we ate dinner at Cafe Kleber by the Eiffel Tower. Eveyone got something different, and we all shared. I tried escargot for the first time and loved it– it tasted like clams and mussels. I also had my first French crepes with Nutella inside {sooo good}. After dinner, we walked over to the Eiffel Tower. I was taken away by how beautiful it was at night all lit up. The tower was impressive during the day just because of how large it is, but at night, it is truly gorgeous. After taking a ton of pictures, we walked down and sat in the grass. At exactly 12am, the tower sparkled as we sat below and watched it.

DSC_7050

Dinner
Dinner
Escargot
Escargot
1st French Crepe
1st French Crepe

????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????

Then we headed back to our hostel and got up early the next morning for more sightseeing. My favorite part of the day was climbing the Arc de Triomphe. Brianna and Nicole both said how it was the best view of Paris. The weather was perfect with just a few clouds in the sky. After buying a ticket, I climbed a long spiral staircase and took a short break at the platform before climbing two more shorter staircases before I reached the top. Once I got up, the view was breathtaking. I could see all of Paris from the Eiffel Tower, tall skyscrapers, and even the Sacré-Cœur. I spent about 30 minutes up there taking pictures and admiring the view.

The view from above
The view from above

DSC_7237 DSC_7266 DSC_7290 IMG_6849

To close out the trip, the girls and I walked around by the Eiffel Tower and got crepes before heading back on the Metro to the bus station. It was an incredible weekend. I was so happy I made it to Paris and saw all of the touristy sights. It was also a huge accomplishment to figure out the Metro in a foreign city {thanks SEPTA for the training}.

Paris is such a beautiful city. I loved the buildings with their off white color and balconies with the intricate iron work and white shutters– they just look so elegant. I hope to visit again soon!!

~Shaun

Leave a Reply

