Another concert…

Just when I think I am doing attending concerts for the year… another one pops up. My capstone professor owns her own public relations firm, Media Friendly PR and asked for volunteers back in September to help with a press conference for her client, the Electric Factory. I worked the event and talked to one of the marketing assistants, Katie. I told her how excited I was to see Vance Joy in March and expressed my love for concerts. She mentioned that she’d get me tickets to any concert I wanted to attend, so I reached out to her to attend Radio 104.5 presents X Ambassadors. I saw the band in June at Firefly Music Festival and enjoy their music. Katie not only gave me tickets but also a press pass to shoot the show. I invited my mom to the concert because she has been enjoying alternative music more often and has taken me to many concerts over the years. We arrived at the venue, got our tickets from will call and headed up to the balcony area to watch the show from above. I normally love being as close as possible to the bands, but since I am not obsessed with the X Ambassadors, I thought I’d be more relaxed and just listen. As we headed up, I was carded, had my ID scanned and the bouncer asked my middle initial {just in case my ID was fake}. It was so funny to be question for the first time since I turned 21. Then my mom and I grabbed seats as close to the stage as we could and settled in.  10 minutes before the first opener came on, Kevin Garrett. He was okay. The second opener was Skylar Grey. She was pretty good and sang pieces from Love the Way You Lie, Clarity and Coming Home. Around 9:30 p.m. the X Ambassadors came on. I didn’t know all their songs but really enjoyed hearing Unsteady and Renegades live. Their set was very lively with lead singer, Sam Harris constantly moving around and jumping while alternating between playing the guitar and saxophone. It was a great show, and I got some awesome pictures throughout {see some of my best photos below}.  I also made my own watermark when posting pictures or sending them to venues or artist managers {as seen below}. I would love to get better at shooting concerts and better understanding how to adjust my shutter speed, aperture and ISO settings.

DSC_0226 no
Kevin Garrett
DSC_0296 no
Skylar Grey
DSC_0424 no
Sam Harris
DSC_0507 no
Full house
DSC_0530 no
X Ambassadors

~Shaun

Leave a Reply

