Vance Joy in Philadelphia

DSC_3004
Vance Joy in Philadelphia at The Electric Factory

Vance Joy seems to be a huge fan of Philadelphia! He came to Radio 104.5 for their 8th birthday show, a South Street PHS Pop-Up Garden show, two shows with Taylor Swift on her 1989 World Tour, two Radio 104.5 studio sessions and now a sold out show at The Electric Factory. I was lucky to be in attendance for all of them except for the beer garden performance {my pre-21 years-old days}. Each time, Vance amazes me with his talent and charm.

DSC_2693
Radio 104.5 Studio Session

A couple of weeks ago, Radio 104.5 announced their Share Your Way into Vance’s Studio Session. After signing up and blasting my link on my Facebook, Twitter, blog, email chains, GroupMe chats and texts, I was notified I won two tickets to the session. After checking in and getting seated in the imitate room, DJ Wendy Rollins came in and introduced Vance. He performed three songs: Fire and the Flood, Riptide and Mess is Mine. Between songs, he chatted with Wendy and shared his inspiration for some of the songs and his plans to sit on his parents’ couch and watch Girls and Broad City with his sister once his tour is over. Afterwards, my mom and I got a photo with Vance and he signed my mom’s CD. I asked him to play his cover of Taylor Swift’s I Know Places, but he said he already had his set list worked out.

Studio Session March
My mom, Vance Joy and I

I went back to campus and was eating lunch when Radio 104.5 called me and said I won VIP upgrades for the night. I didn’t know where the VIP seating was or how I was even chosen for it but was super excited. Later my mom picked me up, and we headed to The Electric Factory with my sister and her boyfriend. I picked up my press pass since I was shooting for The Electric Factory and Vance Joy. My mom and I found our VIP seating was in the sky box and got comfy.

DSC_2710

DSC_3180

DSC_2740
View from VIP Skybox
DSC_2760
Jamie Lawson

Right before the show started, I headed down to the photo pit and was there to shoot Jamie Lawson. I never heard his music before but read about him being signed to Ed Sheeran’s record label. Jamie was great. I loved his voice and mellowness. Next up was Blind Pilot, and they were really good too and had a lively sound.

DSC_2872
Blind Pilot
DSC_3010
Vance during Mess Is Mine

Then at 9:30pm sharp, Vance and his band came out and opened with Mess Is MineAll throughout the night, Vance serenaded the sold-out audience. He played hits like Riptide and a huge crowd favorite {and mine too} GeorgiaBetween most of the songs, he introduced them and told stories how some songs came inspired from books he read, old crushes, relative’s Facebook posts or stalking celebrities and seeing a word like snaggletooth and later writing a song about it. Vance’s set included Snaggletooth and From Afar, which were both originally on his EP God Loves You When You’re Dancing. Towards the end of his set, he also played a cover of You Can Call Me Al mashed with Cheerleader. Vance closed out the show with Fire and The Flood, of course.

DSC_3038DSC_3069DSC_3117DSC_3167DSC_3177

As I was walking towards the exit, a woman from Team Vance Joy approached me and offered me Vance’s meet and greet called You Are Invited. This is something Vance began with this tour. It is similar to Taylor Swift’s T-Party/Club Red/Loft ’89 where fans get randomly selected throughout the night to meet Taylor after the show in a special room. It was so unexpected since the show was over, but I was so excited to get one after seeing so many fans tweet and Instagram their passes. So my group headed backstage and got the scoop from Team Vance Joy and how all 20 of us were selected to meet Vance and could get any photos and autographs. Vance came out shortly after and was so relaxed. He took so much time with each person and really cared about each fan. When I walked up I thanked him for another incredible show and showed him my poster. He personalized my You Are Invited card, and we took a normal posted picture then I asked him to do the Taylor Swift hand hearts. It was the perfect ending to the day!IMG_2965IMG_2976

A huge thank you to Vance Joy, Team Vance Joy and Radio 104.5 for caring about fans and creating amazing concert experiences!! Without them, I would not have had all these amazing opportunities to write about ❤

~Shaun

Leave a Reply

