Lots of “lasts”

The past two weeks have been a bit of a blur. I celebrated the my last week of classes, ended my internships at Philadelphia magazine and Flackable, worked a lot of hours at Owl Ambassador, had my last night on duty and managed to get another part time job. To say the days are flying by is an understatement. My planner is full of closing hours in my building, giving tours and making sure I am spending as much time as I can with friends on and around campus.

My job search has taken a back seat, and my emails from Indeed are slowly piling up in my inbox…. I can’t seem to focus on applying to jobs right now. It is on my to-do list but keeps getting shoved further down as other things pop up. I am committed to applying to two jobs this week. Hopefully that happens.

Last week marked my last full week on-campus. Every day, I get the questions “Are you excited for graduation?” and “What are your plans after graduation?” To answer both of those- I am not excited to graduate. I am really sad. I love this school and campus. The other day at work, a girl came into admissions that was just accepted off the waitlist and was deciding if she should come to Temple. As a tour guide, I love sharing information about Temple and telling people what Temple has to offer. As I was answering her questions, my eyes teared up, and once again, I realized how much I don’t want to leave as all of my memories from the past four years flashed through my mind. So if anyone is wondering, I don’t want to graduate. I don’t want to leave campus and see my friends go in different directions and not be within walking distance to grab lunch, go to the gym or tech center. Just walking around campus and talking about leaving will make me cry, and I am avoiding the g word {graduation}.

So on a more positive note, I am doing everything I can to savor my time left here and have the bags under my eyes to prove it. I squeeze in lunch dates and meet ups, go out every night with friends to make sure I am seeing as many friends as possible. The past couple of weeks have been emotional but fun, and I have a lot of pictures to prove it.

IMG_3551

My last day in the office at Philadelphia magazine was really hard. The day went by as any other but as I was getting ready to leave and hand out my thank you cards to the department, I was really sad to leave. 1818 market has been my office for the past 3 semester, and I wasn’t ready to leave.

IMG_3612

For admissions, I also had my last weekend event, Saturday Preview Day.

IMG_3613Right after Saturday Preview Day, my parents came to Temple to move out some of my stuff. On the way home, I took photos at Graffiti Pier in my cap and gown.

IMG_3611

Luberski family all together for Passover Dinner!

IMG_3632What is a Philly mag event without food? At the April Be Well Philly Underground, sweetgreen provided yummy salads! I took home one with kale and chicken.

IMG_3667 Ahhh my favorite Res Life event of the year– banquet. It is always so much fun to get dressed up and be with my whole staff!

IMG_3676Post banquet after party at Maxis with my best friends because music and dancing is better than studying and writing papers.

IMG_3682

Senior send off from Owl Ambassador was just as emotional as I thought it would be. I am so thankful to have spent four years as an Owl Ambassador and tour guide with these amazing people.

IMG_3723

While my full-time job search is a bit of a struggle, I was able to get a part-time position as a hostess for Shutter Booth! My first day of training consisted of working at the Eagles Draft Party at Lincoln Financial Field.

IMG_3755

Senior year: Friday nights going to 700. Freshmen year: Friday nights going to AEPi

IMG_3806

Maxis penne pizza is always a good idea!IMG_3812

I worked a Sunday morning bridal show for Philadelphia Wedding in Center City.

IMG_3817

Stepped away from campus for a non-meal plan meal at Banana Leaf in Chinatown.

Well, I guess I should head to bed. After a long day of check outs, going to the gym, and into the city, I think I need my bed. Here’s to not crying all week as I say goodbye to Temple.

~Shaun

Leave a Reply

