Firefly 2016

Another Firefly is in the books. This past weekend, I spent wandering in The Woodlands and saw over 35 bands. This Firefly was definitely more special than the previous ones because I worked as a brand ambassador all spring and completed task after task to help promote and spread the word about the festival.

DSCN3852
Welcome to premier camping

For me, Firefly has become more than just a music festival in Dover. I look forward to it from the moment I buy my pass and know each year will be an incredible experience. Being in The Woodlands feels like you’re in another world. Everyone is so nice {except when you’re saying excuse me and trying to get closer to the stage} and is happy. I would turn around and sing the lyrics with the person standing next to me and high five strangers while walking from stage to stage. There is really no where else like it in the world. After talking to my friend Anastasia, I think the world would be a happier place if it had the same culture and attitude as a music festival {minus the camping and not having running water}. With so much going on in the world today, Firefly is an escape from reality and brings people together to enjoy great music.

DSCN3810
Fitz & The Tantrums
DSCN3824
Of Monsters & Men
DSCN3841
Ellie Goulding
DSCN3936
Mumford & Sons

Throughout the weekend, I discovered new bands like the The Wombats and Arkells, saw some of my favorites again like Of Monsters and Men and Ellie Goulding and finally saw Mumford and Sons live {my favorite performance of the whole festival}.

DSCN3885
The ladies of campsite 1857.

The whole weekend was incredible. All of our neighbors were friendly and shared their canopies/shade with us, and we all hung out and played games before going into the festival. We got to see almost every band we wanted, and the weather was beautiful! I am so glad I was able to go despite having a full time job because it is one place that makes me so happy. Yesterday, I purchased my pass for 2017, so I can’t wait to be back at Firefly next year!

~Shaun

Leave a Reply

